RECKLESS DRIVING IN VIRGINIA

I’ve been practicing traffic defense law in the Commonwealth of Virginia for more than thirty years. If you’ve been charged with reckless driving if you’re charged with a class one misdemeanor that has serious consequences the statute for reckless driving is very broad and comprises many many actions other than speeding itself. If you’ve been charged with this offense please consider giving me a call for a free consultation.
 
Remember, Your license is your life ™
Call me at (804) 355-1842

 

This is a charge that usually scares Virginia and out of State drivers. Many of the callers to my office are shocked when I tell them that this is a charge for which they could be fined up to $2,500.00; have their license suspended for six months and go to jail for twelve months! In Virginia it’s more than a traffic infraction, it’s a criminal offense, a class one misdemeanor. As a criminal offense, a conviction remains on a person’s record for life. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles assesses Virginia drivers 6 demerit points for a reckless driving conviction.

In addition, there are the collateral consequences of a reckless driving conviction such as higher insurance premiums, loss of insurance, job restrictions, demotions and even job loss.

Reckless driving in Virginia encompasses a broad range of bad driving conduct. It occurs when a person drives a motor vehicle “on a highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner that endangers the life, limb, or property of any person”. (Va.Code Section 46.2-852) The term “reckless” means “ a disregard by the driver of a motor vehicle for the consequences of his act and an indifference to the safety of life, limb or property”.

Here’s a list of what Virginia law has specifically codified as reckless driving:

Va. Code Section for Reckless Driving

46.2-853 – Improper control or faulty breaks

46.2-854 – Passing when view is obstructed

46.2-855 – Driving an overloaded car

46.2-856 – Passing 2 vehicles abreast

46.2-857 – Two vehicles in one lane

46.2-858 – Passing at intersection or railroad grade crossing

46.2-859 – Passing a stopped school bus

46.2-860 – Failing to give a proper signal

46.2-861 – Driving too fast for conditions

46.2-862 – Exceeding the speed limit (20mph over or >80mph)

46.2-863 – Failure to yield right of way

46.2-865 – Racing

46.2-866 – Aiding and abetting racing

Of all the reckless driving charges I defend, reckless driving endangering life limb or property ( VA Code Section 46.2-852 ) and reckless driving by speed (VA Code Section 46.2-862) are the two most common.

I have defended reckless driving cases in the following city and county General District and Circuit Courts: City of Richmond, City of Petersburg, Counties of Henrico, Hanover, Caroline New Kent, Charles City, Chesterfield, Prince George, Goochland, Louisa, Powhatan and Amelia.

If you have been charged with reckless driving, consider contacting me.

Your License is your life! ™

(804) 355-1842 to discuss your situation or “Tell Us What Happened” for an initial FREE 30-minute consultation!