The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles uses a point system to track repeat offenders.
Virginia Points (an overview):

Different violations carry different point assignments in relation to how serious the violation is.
There are three categories of Virginia point assignments. Six, four and three points.
Each time you commit a traffic offense, DMV adds the appropriate points.
Drivers License

A Few Example Points…

Six Virginia Points

DUI
Attempting to elude police
Reckless Driving in excess of 80 MPH
Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
Four Virginia Points

Failure to obey traffic signal
Stopping/yielding offenses
Speeding 10-19 above limit
Following/signaling offenses
Three Virginia Points

Driving/passing offenses
Speeding 1-9 over limit and other speeding-related offenses
Turning/backing offenses
Lighting offenses Licenses/permit offenses
Restraints – child
Failure to report accident
Penalties for Virginia points accumulation include:

8 demerit points in 12 months (or 12 in 24 months)
Advisory letter from DMV
12 demerit points in 12 months (or 18 in 24 months)
Required driver improvement clinic within 90 days. Failure to attend equals license suspension
18 demerit points in 12 months (or 24 in 24 months)
License suspended for 90 days then 6 month probation period.
If the offense in probation period further suspension.

(804) 355-1842 to discuss your situation or “Tell Us What Happened” for an initial FREE 30-minute consultation!